University of Leeds

Welcome to the University of Leeds Ladies' Club

92nd Session 2016/2017

Welcome to our website!

The Ladies' Club, now in its ninety-second year.

It usually meets at Devonshire Hall on Cumberland Road, Leeds LS6 2EQ,

or at University House on the campus. (See images on the right).

Coffee, tea and biscuits are generally served before the event.  

We are a friendly group of about a 100 members, with a varied programme of talks, social events and visits to places of interest.

When you join you will be sent a written programme. Please let the person named beside each event know if you wish to attend, as we have to advise the venue of numbers in advance.

Our annual subscription for 2016-17 is £7.

For details about whether you are eligible  to join, please refer to the menu bar under About Us

 Cheques are payable to, The University of Leeds Ladies' Club.

Send to Mrs. M Bradbury, 131 Adel Lane. Leeds. LS16 8BW



Sheila Gosden   R.I.P.

Colleagues will be sorry to learn of the death, on 18 March 2017, of Dr Sheila Gosden, former Senior Lecturer in the School of Education, and Life Fellow of the University.

Sheila came to the University in 1958 as a Lecturer in Education, with particular responsibility for those parts of the course concerned with the teaching of biology. Sheila loved the Yorkshire Dales and completed her PhD on the palaeobotany of various sites there. This led to an annual field course for Graduate Certificate students where she not only demonstrated her love of the environment, but also her considerable knowledge of its flora.

She served on numerous committees during her thirty-five years at the University, not least as Chairman of the Catering Executive Committee for almost 20 years; as a long-standing member of Senate and Chair of the University’s Appointing Committee; and was Chair of the Board of the Faculty of Education between 1980-82. She also represented the University on the governing bodies of several schools. She became a Life Fellow of the University upon her retirement in 1992.